Earliest adopters who rushed out to install Adobe CC 2015 updates Monday night may have been surprised to find that this year's installer erases previous CC versions on the hard drive.

This is probably a welcomed convenience to most users who don't need multiple versions of software taking up useful drive space, but if you have a mission critical file or plug-in that requires a specific version, you might be out of luck if you blow away your older installation.

I had installed CC 2015 on three systems before I realized I was removing CC and CC 2014 programs.

Keeping the older versions is straight forward, but requires paying attention early in the update process. 

  When the Adobe Creative Cloud application notifies you that new CC 2015 apps are available, you can update the programs individually or select Update All.

When the Adobe Creative Cloud application notifies you that new CC 2015 apps are available, you can update the programs individually or select Update All.

  By default, the installer will remove prior CC versions (CS 6 and earlier are not affected). To keep your older installations, select Advanced Options.

By default, the installer will remove prior CC versions (CS 6 and earlier are not affected). To keep your older installations, select Advanced Options.

  Untick the Remove old versions option and then select Update. Be prepared to wait a while as all of my installations thus far have taken a couple of hours.

Untick the Remove old versions option and then select Update. Be prepared to wait a while as all of my installations thus far have taken a couple of hours.

  Most users will likely appreciate the freed up hard drive space, so this method should only be applied if you absolutely need to continue to access older CC programs.

Most users will likely appreciate the freed up hard drive space, so this method should only be applied if you absolutely need to continue to access older CC programs.

Posted
AuthorRick Rodriguez
CategoriesTips